My 2015 in books

2015-end-of-year-book-survey-1024x984

Hey guys! I know I’ve been a little MIA, but what better way to end the year with this survey made by Jamie @ PerpetualPageTurner. All images were taken from her post as well, so thank you, Jamie! Although I’ve only made this blog in August, I’ve been reading all year long so I thought I’d still participate. Also, just a warning, I’m being choosy and only answering a couple certain questions (it’s so long, ok). So let’s get to it!

reading-stats-2015-1024x278

Number of books you read: 57
Number of re-reads: 1 (there’s so many books I have yet to read, alright? Who has time to re-read a bunch of books when you can discover new ones?! Although, if you do both… kudos to you!!)
Most read genre: I’m honestly not sure? I don’t know where to go to find out, tbh, but I kinda want to say either fantasy or contemporary/whatever other genre it was.

best-YA-books-2014

1. Best book you read in 2015?

You knew this was coming. I don’t even have to ask if you were expecting it because I know you know. — The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater.
Before anyone says anything, it wasn’t that easy. I didn’t look at that question and automatically think of TDT (ok, yes I did, but still), but I also had a ton of others come to me. I just couldn’t pass up the chance to mention this book again.

2. Book you were excited about and thought you were going to love more but didn’t?

There was quite a few of these for me this year, but I’m going to have to go with my most recent read which was Daughter of Smoke & Bone by Laini Taylor. I KNOW. I did really enjoy it, but I thought I was actually going to love it to where it would be one of my favorites. Nope. I still haven’t found what fell flat for me (which is why I haven’t done a review yet, I’m sorry).

3. Most surprising (in a good or bad way) book you read?

I’m gonna go with two books, one for both surprising ways. The book that surprised me in the best way possible was Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein. I feel like I’ve talked about this a lot on my blog as well, but I wasn’t a big fan of historical fiction when I read this and I turned out to absolutely love it.
As for a book that surprised me in a bad way, I had to go with the first three Harry Potter books. When I told a friend this, he literally gawked at me. There was only one reason I didn’t enjoy those three books as much as I thought I would for reasons stated in the reviews if you’re interested.

4. Favorite new author you discovered in 2015?

I’m torn between three right now, but I think I’m gonna have to go with Courtney Summers. All The Rage was definitely one I was debating to include in the book to surprise me in a good way; I wasn’t expecting to enjoy that one as much as I had (despite the topic and how angry/uncomfortable it made me). Apart from that book, though, I want to check out all her other books because I’m very interested in them.

5. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?

The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath isn’t a book in a genre I typically don’t read, but it was quite out of my comfort zone as it touches a very sensitive topic for me.

6. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year?

When it comes to this question, I have to answer with Night Film by Marisha Pessl because it’s easily the longest book I’ve ever read as well as the book I’ve read faster than any other. It’s well over 600 pages and I read it in under 24 hours. It was just so hard to put down!

7. Book you read in 2015 that you are most likely to re-read next year?

Ok, so The Raven Cycle is a no brainer, let’s be real because I’m planning to re-read all three books before The Raven King comes out in April. Other than that, though, The Archived by Victoria Schwab is one so my mind is refreshed for the second book as soon as I can get my hands on it.

8. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2015?

The Darkest Part of the Forest

9. Most thought provoking/life changing book of 2015?

There were a few books I’ve read this year that had impacted me, maybe not in a life changing way, but had me thinking/viewing things in a different way after I’d read it. Since I’d already mentioned the first two that came to mind, I’ll say A Work in Progress by Connor Franta for this one. It’s not a heavy read, but he reflects on his life and how it’s lead him to where he is now and when you read something like that, it typically leads you to thinking about your own decisions and choices.

10. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2015 to finally read?

I’m gonna answer this one with Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo — waiting until this year, let alone the end of this year??? I GOT IT FOR CHRISTMAS LAST YEAR, WHY DIDN’T I READ IT THEN?! Such a shame… but at least I finally got to it!

11. Favorite passage/quote from a book you read in 2015?

I’ve got two that always comes to mind from time to time that are both from Code Name Verity.
“KISS ME, HARDY! Kiss me, QUICK!”
“But a part of me lies buried in lace and roses on a riverbank in France–a part of me is broken off forever. A part of me will be unflyable, stuck in the climb.”

12. Shortest & longest book you read in 2015?

Shortest: (Not including graphic novels) Love is the Higher Law by David Levithan – 176 pages
Longest: Night Film by Marisha Pessl – 640 pages

13. Book that shocked you the most?

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart. THAT ENDING!

14. OTP of the year?

Ronan and Kavinsky from TDT. *hides in a corner*

15. Favorite non-romantic relationship of the year?

Verity and Maddie from Code Name Verity.

16. Best 2015 debut you read?

I think this one has to go to Lies We Tell Ourselves by Robin Talley. There was a couple problems I had with it, and I haven’t seen many people enjoy it as much as I had, but for some reason I really liked it??

17. Best worldbuilding/most vivid setting you read this year?

I’m thinking maybe We Were Liars or The Archived. I don’t think they were the best or even the most vivid setting in regards of description, but they were definitely ones that I pictured the best, myself.

18. Book that made you cry/nearly cry in 2015?

Since I’ve started reading, I’ve discovered books make me cry so much easier than movies or pretty much anything else. So needless to say, there’s been a few books that made me cry. But, I think the one that made me cry the most was We Were Liars. Though that doesn’t beat TDT which left me devastated for a week after reading it *hides behind hands*.  Also Code Name Verity and The Bell Jar. I know I keep mentioning the same books over and over again, but mostly they’re the ones that touched me on a more personal level than the rest.

19. Book that crushed your soul?

Brace yourself. The Dream Thieves.

20. Book that made you the most mad? (Doesn’t necessarily mean you didn’t like it)

I think maybe The Vincent Boys by Abbi Glines just because there’s this one scene I particularly remember where some people are beating her up in the middle of the hallway at school or something? I might be getting that completely wrong, but yeah. Also, because I thought it was going to be something entirely different and felt like I ended up wasting my time reading it, even though it didn’t even take me long.

looking-ahead-books-2015

1. Book you are most anticipating for 2016? (Non-debut)

The Raven King. Bet you couldn’t guess that one. 😉

2. 2016 debut you are most anticipating?

It would probably have to be The May Queen Murders by Sarah Jude.

3. A 2016 release you’ve already read and recommend to everyone?

As I’ve only read one 2016 release so far, I can only recommend Firsts by Laurie Elizabeth Flynn. It was an enjoyable read and you can read my review here.


Thanks for reading! I hope you had a nice holiday and I wish you all luck in the new year!! If you posted this survey, share your link in the comments so I can check it out. 😄

sign off

 

Leave a comment