Do you prefer physical copies, ebooks, or audiobooks?

Hello! So to start off: I feel like there’s been more than enough discussion posts about this topic and who knows, there probably has been, but I’m going through with it and discussing it on my own blog as well.

pascal sticking out his tongue

I’ve been thinking about this a lot lately specifically because of a new app I found called Overdrive. You can use it to link up to your local library so long as they have the option available to you and all you need is a valid library card to read any titles that’s available. It’s been pretty great so far and I can’t believe I’ve only just now found it.

When asked the question of which format I prefer to read, I would have always said physical books because I just like to hold them as I read and I read a lot faster. Now with this app, I’m able to take my book with me wherever I go and I suddenly understand everybody’s love for ebooks. It is so much handier than a thick hardcover. So while I do still love physical copies, I have a new appreciation for the format of ebooks.

a book or two or three.jpg

Overdrive also provides audiobooks. I’ve never tried listening to any and I’m still skeptical about them only because I feel like it won’t keep my attention for very long. I’ll be listening to it and then a few minutes later my attention would probably avert to something else and I’ll have to go back and listen to it over again. Of course, I won’t know until I try so this gives me the option to do so whenever I’m ready. I have heard many good things about this format and it definitely has my interest, but said problem is the only thing keeping me from experiencing it. Maybe one day soon, though!


Do you use Overdrive? What’s your favorite format? Do you have the same problem as I think I would when listening to audiobooks? Thanks for reading!

sign off

3 thoughts on “Do you prefer physical copies, ebooks, or audiobooks?

  1. I just discovered Overdrive this year too. I wanted to borrow library books but I’m horrible at returning them on time. Overdrive helps by just making the ebooks disappear after the due date. But I prefer physical books. I pay attention and retain more with them, which is why I don’t often read serious novels or nonfiction as an ebook. And I’ll tune out of an audiobook. As soon as it starts, I’ll probably start daydreaming too. Me & audiobooks don’t vibe.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

