Top 5 Wednesday || Disappointing eye candy

Hey guys! Top 5 Wednesday, on a Friday again, I know. I just didn’t want to post two of them in a row! Anyway, this week is disappointing eye candy; a book whose beautiful cover drew you in, but in the end had let you down in more than one aspect.

This meme was created by Lainey and GingerReadsLainey on Youtube. You can find the Goodreads group here.

Top 5 Wednesday

 

Red Queen (Red Queen, #1)
5. Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

While I did like it, I was very underwhelmed after reading this. It was predictable and unfortunately, did not reach the expectations I had going into it.

 

 

 

 
Atlantia

4. Atlantia by Ally Condie

This book takes place in an underwater city… how cool does that sound?! But, much to my disappointment, it was lacking in the world building department. Along with several other aspects, I was not impressed.

 

 

 

 
Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles, #1)
3. Cinder by Marissa Meyer

I’ve expressed my dislike for this book before on my blog, and never really indicated what I disliked about it. That’s because I… don’t know. I read it because of the hype and I guess it just wasn’t what I thought it would be. Expectations… *shakes head* Gets me every time.
 

 

 

If I Fall, If I Die
2. If I Fall, If I Die by Michael Christie

This is another one that I’ve previously expressed my dislike for. I felt it lack in many aspects, particularly the plot. It seemed as though something was missing, but I can’t quite put my finger on it. The synopsis makes it sound like such an interesting book, but that interest didn’t carry through to the last page.

 

 

 

The Isle of the Lost (Descendants, #1)
1. The Isle of the Lost by Melissa de la Cruz

I don’t want to ramble on about this one because I’ve just explained my disappointment in the review, but this was another case of the lack of world building as well as conflict.

 

 

 

 


So there you have it! Which books have you been disappointed in, despite how beautiful their covers are? Thanks for reading.

sign off

 

6 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday || Disappointing eye candy

  1. I don’t think it would be possible to agree about Red Queen and Atlantia any more than I already do! If the content were HALF as good as their covers, they’d be ASTOUNDINGLY GOOD. Alas… it was not to be. My co-blogger and I wrote a similar list about a month ago and Red Queen was allllllllll over it. I did enjoy The Lunar Chronicles myself, but I’ve always been able to understand why others wouldn’t. It’s just one of those things. And the general consensus seems to be that The Isle of the Lost and If I Fall, If I Die offer mostly just good covers, too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Exactly! I completely agree. Oh yeah, I have heard mixed opinions on The Lunar Chronicles; it seems just to be a hit or miss. You’re quite right about the last two as well. If I Fall, If I Die felt like it was missing so much opportunity and the whole time I was reading, I was waiting for something to happen that never came so it was much of a disappointment. As for The Isle of the Lost, I’d say if you’re interested in checking it out, just go straight to watching the movie to be honest!

      Like

Leave a Reply

