“Don’t write what you know, know what you write.”

Hi friends! Today I wanted to talk about something that’s been on my mind for a couple weeks now. When I started this blog, my first post ever was a monthly wrap up that included mini reviews. In that post, I talked about Lies We Tell Ourselves by Robin Talley. Now, first and foremost, I have to say I absolutely love that book. I hadn’t expected to love it as much as I do, so this is in no way close to being a negative discussion where I bash the author or story, etc.

A couple weeks ago, something reminded me of what I said in that mini review. I’d said the fact that Robin Talley is white and writing a black character dealing with racism may be problematic to some people. Now that I think about it, I don’t know why I said it and feel ultimately stupid for ever typing those words out on the page. It’s not my thoughts — it’s just something I know some people would be picky about.

When I got to thinking about that, I’d realized that I’m doing the exact same thing. With much research, as Robin Talley and I’m sure many other authors have done, I’m attempting to write an asexual transgender character. Both of which I am not.

So the moral of this post is to just believe in yourself when you’re writing. Don’t worry about what others will say or think, don’t worry about what kind of criticism you’ll get, don’t worry about anybody else but yourself. If there’s something that you feel passionate enough to write about whether that’s, in my case a person completely unlike yourself, or something entirely different then just go for it. Do your research, get the facts straight, make it as realistic and believable as you can, and when everything’s said and done you can only hope people will like it.

sign off

2 thoughts on ““Don’t write what you know, know what you write.”

  1. Great post! I hear it over and over too: Write what you know. But there’s a lot I don’t know and I want to write about a lot of things. If I only wrote about what I know my novels wouldn’t be about anything interesting, haha! Keep up the writing!
    ~Sara

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

