Duo review: Harry Potter #1 and #2 (contains mild spoilers)

3
Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone
by J.K. Rowling
Series: Harry Potter #1
Published: November 1st 2003 (first published 1997) by Scholastic
Pages: 310pg.
Format: Hardcover / Source: Borrowed
Genres: Middle Grade/Young Adult, Fantasy, Adventure, Classics

Goodreads synopsis:
Harry Potter thinks he is an ordinary boy. He lives with his Uncle Vernon, Aunt Petunia and cousin Dudley, who are mean to him and make him sleep in a cupboard under the stairs. (Dudley, however, has two bedrooms, one to sleep in and one for all his toys and games.) Then Harry starts receiving mysterious letters and his life is changed forever. He is whisked away by a beetle-eyed giant of a man and enrolled at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. The reason: Harry Potter is a wizard! The first book in the “Harry Potter” series makes the perfect introduction to the world of Hogwarts.

4-5 stars

book review

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone is a fantasy series about a young boy who discovers he’s a wizard. We’re taken with him from his point of view through the discoveries of this new magical world as he learns the workings and essentials. It’s a book filled with friendship and adventure and magic — all of which I enjoy very much.

plot-concept

As this was the first book of the series, we were only just carried through the ways of this wonderful magical world. We’re meeting the characters and discovering what you couldn’t possibly have imagined along with Harry during his first year at Hogwarts. This book is slow paced, but it’s also action packed. Even though this was a reread for me, I completely forgot about the reveal in the end (well, ok, not entirely–I remembered Voldemort but forgot whose back of the head he was on). I really enjoyed the series of puzzles he had to go through to get to Voldemort, too.

characters

Can I just start off by saying how much I love Hagrid? He’s honestly the best. I love him so much. He’s so caring and naive. But also the Weasleys. Hello?? How could you not want a family like that???? I love how Harry and Ron became friends right off the bat. Also, Hermoine, my dear fellow bookworm. I would like her as my girlfriend. Alright, I won’t lie–she was kind of extremely annoying in the beginning with her pestering and flaunting off her knowledge, but hey, that’s just who she is. She’s smart and fantastic and just a total badass. Then we have Fred and George, the jokesters of the bunch, yet they are so loveable. The Weasleys are just all around incredible. I just have a space in my heart for every one of the characters in this series, ok? Even for the ones who aren’t entirely a good person (except for the Dursleys, I must say). I love them all, goodbye.

final thoughts

I can understand everybody’s love for this series. Straight away I was sucked into this world and loved it with my entirety. As I said, this one was a reread for me, but I’ve only read it once before which was over a year ago so I didn’t remember too much. There wasn’t much character development, though, which was a little disappointing. But there was a ton of world building and so many characters and entertainment. Overall, it’s an amazing story despite its flaws and (like everyone who’s late to the party says) I can’t believe it took me this long to read it.

Sidenote. I wasn’t originally planning to do a review for this so my thoughts are jumbled with the events of the first two books so I’m sorry if I sound vague or confusing.


15881
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets
by J.K. Rowling
Series: Harry Potter #2
Published: July 1st 1999 (first published 1998) by Arthur A. Levine Books
Pages: 352pg.
Format: Hardcover / Source: Borrowed
Genres: Middle Grade/Young Adult, Fantasy, Adventure, Classics

Goodreads synopsis:
All Harry Potter wants is to get away from the Dursleys and go back to Hogwarts School for Witchcraft and Wizardry. But just as he’s packing his bags, Harry receives a warning from a strange, impish creature named Dobby – who says that if Harry Potter returns to Hogwarts, disaster will strike.

And strike it does. For in Harry’s second year at Hogwarts, fresh torments and horrors arise, including an outrageously stuck-up new professor, Gilderoy Lockheart, a spirit named Moaning Myrtle who haunts the girls’ bathroom, and the unwanted attentions of Ron Weasley’s younger sister, Ginny.

But each of these seem minor annoyances when the real trouble begins, and someone–or something–starts turning Hogwarts students to stone. Could it be Draco Malfoy, a more poisonous rival than ever? Could it possibly be Hagrid, whose mysterious past is finally told? Or could it be the one everyone at Hogwarts most suspects… Harry Potter himself.

3-5 stars


book review

The second installment of the Harry Potter series takes us with Harry through yet another adventure at Hogwarts as he tries to uncover a mystery. We meet a handful of new characters as well as see the growth of not only previous characters but the relationships between them as well. (I can’t say much in review without repeating myself from the first book).

plot-concept

Obviously as this is the second book of the series, Harry is now going to Hogwarts for his second year. Just as he’d gotten in trouble during his first year, he’s gotten into even more trouble this year which almost lost him his enrollment. The plot for this one I feel was more developed, but the concept also felt repeated from the first book in more ways than one. Although it was very similar, I did not see the end coming. It was too obviously set up to make you think Gilderoy guilty, but I hadn’t been expecting Riddle either (or Ginny, rather). The idea of the journal was so cool it had me wishing I had one (but let’s be real, I wish the whole world existed). Speaking of Riddle Voldemort, I can’t wait to see what Rowling has planned for these similarities between him and Harry… she didn’t just point them out for nothing, I’m sure. Anyway, to sum up my thoughts for this section, I did enjoy certain aspects of the plot more than the plot itself, to say the least.

characters

There were many new characters introduced in this book. Let’s start off with Gilderoy–all in all, he’d been my least favorite character. He was way too obnoxious and he turned out to be a coward, if you ask me. I do hope Rowling has something up her sleeve with him, though, as I don’t see the point of how this book ended his storyline otherwise. I’m disappointed there wasn’t more of Hagrid in this book (seriously… does anybody else love him as much as I do?). I’m hoping there’s more to Colin’s storyline as well, other than the little that’s happened to him in this book. Oh, and Ginny! I must say I have a sweet spot for her. She hadn’t a big role in this book, but she’s on the cover of the Prisoner of Azkaban so I hope I’ll see more of her in that one. Also, Dobby. Isn’t he so cute?! I love him a lot. I want a house-elf! Only I wouldn’t treat him badly, obviously. I feel like I may be forgetting someone, which if I am, it will probably come to me after posting this of course.

final thoughts

So to wrap up this book–I’m not gonna lie, obviously by my rating, you may be able to tell I enjoyed the first book more than this one. That’s only because of the plot, though, to be entirely honest. As I said, the plot itself had felt repeated to me and I only enjoyed aspects of it. We did get character development in this one, though! Including growth in the friendship (and relationship) department! Who knows, my rating for this one may bump up to a whole 4 stars at some point. I’m just bitter about the plot.

Another sidenote. These reviews were decided on a whim so I’m sorry if it seems messy and incomplete. My thoughts are scattered, as I said, and I’ve probably forgotten a ton of what I would have liked to include. But I hope you enjoyed it otherwise.


So that’s that. Why has it taken me so long to read these books? I think it may be the fact that I wasn’t as into reading when I was around the age of 10 as I am now. Also because of the hype around it, I think. I’ve never even watched the movies yet (which I’ve purposely been putting off as of late because I want to read the books first). Anyway, I do hope you enjoyed it and watch out for reviews on the other books! 🙂

sign off

Leave a Reply

