Top 5 Wednesday || Favorite tropes

Hey everyone! On Wednesday I told you about the tropes I hate, but I missed out on the week that everyone shared the ones they love. So I wanted to balance out the negative with a positive and that’s what I’m giving you today (even though it’s not a Wednesday).

This meme was created by Lainey on Youtube @ GingerReadsLainey. You can find the Goodreads group here.

Top 5 Wednesday

5. The anti-hero
This character is intriguing and interesting and I suppose I just have a sweet spot for misfits, but I couldn’t not include this one in my top 5. When I hear “anti-hero”, I automatically think of The Grey Man from The Raven Cycle whom I very much enjoyed.

4. The villain you just can’t help but love
When a villain is superbly written and/or when they have a tragic backstory, how can you not love them?

3. Hidden powers
I read a lot of fantasy and usually the main character comes with some kind of hidden power. It’s one of my absolute favorites because that power is essentially needed for that character to survive and when they find out about it, it’s just one of those powerful moments and you’re rooting them on and it’s just the best.

2. A group of friends, specifically a band of misfits
As mentioned above, I have a sweet spot for misfits and therefore, if there are a group of friends that are misfits, I’m all for it. This is one of the biggest reasons I love The Raven Cycle and The Secret History so much. If you have any recommendations that will fit this trope, please tell me because I NEED MORE!!

1. The quirky, supportive, etc. best friend
It’s one of my favorite things ever when there is a supporting character that has a positive quality, whether it be a quirky best friend, a sarcastic-always makes a joke no matter the circumstance (gallows humor) friend, etc. I adore it so much.

And now for some honorable mentions:
1. Obviously I had to also include the fellow bookworm characters because when you love books as much as you do, you’d appreciate someone else to talk to about those books and what would be better than talking about those books with those characters?!

2. Unusual, unique names are the best. They’ve become particularly popular in fantasy novels and some may be hard to remember, but I’m a sucker for a nice unique name!

3. Last but not least, The blank is real. Whether it be folklore, or Greek gods (or any type of gods, really), anything at all that the characters thought weren’t real before it’s revealed to them that they are.

I hope you had as much fun reading this as I had making it! Do you share love for any of the same tropes I do? Let me know in the comments 🙂

Have a great day,
Ember ♥

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday || Favorite tropes

  1. I agree with most of your love list. I particularly like the antihero and the villa you can’t help but love. I don’t know of it’s because I’ve seen it a lot laterly, but I’m over hidden powers for now. Everyone has hidden powers! I’m waiting for a character who realizes their powers are never going to come and gets the job done anyway.
    Thanks for the great list! It really got me thinking. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

