Top 5 Wednesday || Tropes I hate

Hey guys! It’s Wednesday so that means it’s time for not only another post, but Top 5 Wednesday!! This is my first time participating and I think this is the perfect topic to join in with. When it comes down to books, there essentially is some kind of trope involved. And, like everything else in life, there will be some you love and some you hate. It’s only natural.

This meme was created by Lainey @ GingerReadsLainey on Youtube. You can find the Goodreads group here.

Top 5 Wednesday

5. Happy endings
As sadistic as that may sound, not everybody has a perfect, happy ending. Although it’s a book and everything that could go wrong will go wrong, but it won’t matter because in the end things will be okay and everyone will be happy again, I’d like to read at least somewhat realistic stories. Especially when it feels forced. You can tell when someone was trying their best for the character to end up happy no matter what situation they’re in.

4. Enemies to lovers
Don’t get me wrong, I do like this trope in certain ways, but it all depends on their history. An example is a book I’d read recently that included insta-love as well as enemies to lovers (but not really, because I don’t think they actually got together in the end), but the one person was racist and incredibly rude to the other. In circumstances like that, I don’t understand how somebody can just put that past them in order to be with the person that’s hurt them.

3. Love triangles
Like many others, I have the common “love triangles” on my list. It’s not the worst thing, in my opinion, but it is extremely overused and annoying. What’s worse than love triangles, though, is love triangles with infidelity. If you have feelings for someone else other than who you’re already with, etc. then maybe you need to take a step back and re-evaluate?

2. There always has to be something going on
A boy and a girl can’t be just friends. Either there’s something going on, they have a history together, or the story is leading up to their eventual kiss. I assume nobody’s heard of what’s called a platonic friendship. Everybody has something more serious than just friends, am I right? If that was the case, none of us would be single.

1. Insta-love
Something I absolutely hate is love at first sight. I’ve never believed in it, it’s not a thing. It’s not realistic. To be honest, it’s not something that will put me off reading something, but you bet I’m rolling my eyes the whole time. Sure, it is a thing when you’re young and starting to get into dating because you’ve never been in love yet and you’re mixing up love with lust.

So, do you share my hatred for any of these tropes? Are there any you hate that weren’t mentioned above? Let me know in the comments!

Have a great day,
Ember ♥

4 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday || Tropes I hate

  1. lol I like happy endings but not perfect endings. Like Hunger Games had a “happy ending” but not a perfect ending. Twilight had too perfect of an ending, like EVERYONE got a happy ending. Thats just too much, even for me! Agreed, love triangles can be good but they are ultimately way overused now. Insta-love *rolls eyes* agreed 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

